Stream And Sun At Glendalough

August 11, 2013 § 4 Comments

I’m at home in Ireland for the month of August.

Early this week, I walked part of The Wicklow Way with Ian and my brother and sister. We wound our way from Dublin to Glendalough – a 6th century monastic settlement in a glacial valley – and lingered a day longer. It was so lovely.

Stream and Sun at Glendalough

This is a poem by William Butler Yeats, written there.

Stream and Sun at Glendalough

Through intricate motions ran
Stream and gliding sun
And all my heart seemed gay:
Some stupid thing that I had done
Made my attention stray.

Repentance keeps my heart impure;
But what am I that dare
Fancy that I can
Better conduct myself or have more
Sense than a common man?

What motion of the sun or stream
Or eyelid shot the gleam
That pierced my body through?
What made me live like these that seem
Self-born, born anew?

Monastic City, Glendalough

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Stream And Sun At Glendalough

What are your thoughts?

What’s this?

You are currently reading Stream And Sun At Glendalough at Deborah Rose Reeves.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 828 other followers

