Ragtag & Sundry

August 7, 2012 § 3 Comments

A periodic news and reading round-up

(or: the most interesting, weird and worthwhile ways I procrastinated of late).

Edward Lear, Self-Portrait as Snail

Let’s start with the weird and Canned Unicorn Meat! Excellent source of sparkles! (as revealed to the twitterverse by @aeroplanegirl Jen Campbell of Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops brilliance.)

Anyone gotta loan of a dollar? Maya Angelou is ‘playing’ the Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall in Portland in October, and tickets go on sale this week. #soveryverypoorrightnnow

Aaaaargh! Puuuuush! Why doesn’t fiction deliver birth scenes?

Punchdrunk Potato Puncher! Uproar in my native-land over cliches and stereotypes in an Australian article about Irish Boxer Katie Taylor’s Olympic gold victory. Erin go bragh!

Upcoming birthday of bookloving niece. This will help: 100 Best-Ever Teen Novels.

“I give the impression of mysterious ease, but it is only with the greatest effort of my will,”  Elizabeth Bishop’s mollusca persona, and snails as muse and mirror in The Paris Review.

Quite excited to download Stanford lecture series on the Structure of English Words, one of 12 great free online courses spotlighted by TEDblog.

It’s hard to believe as I plucked from the bounty of berries on the Oregon coast this weekend, but I take nothing for granted and this Salon piece is food for thought as the world – and America – faces a Real-Life Hunger Games. Man cannot live on canned unicorn meat alone y’know.

Lastly, McSweeneys launch 90Days90Reasons tomorrow: Americans for the reelection of Obama. I am but a lowly legal alien and though I do not have a vote, I do have a voice and I’m looking forward to some rousing essays and debate in the run-up to November.

Oh! and I was relieved to hear Gary Shteyngart is not a whore.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Ragtag & Sundry

  • Fun list of links, Deborah Rose! I’m glad to know Maya Angelou is coming to the Schnitz–and also excited to know you’re in Oregon. I’m actually putting together a book about writers in our state, and I’m looking for folks to write 250-300 word craft essays to go along with the author interviews. If you’re interested, pop me an email at laurastanfill at hotmail dot com, and I’ll share the details!

  • emahadeo says:

    What an neat blog post. I have not read anything quite like it! Love the quirky little facts and nuggets of info. Going to check out one of your links now about the free online courses. Thanks!

What are your thoughts?

What’s this?

You are currently reading Ragtag & Sundry at Deborah Rose Reeves.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 838 other followers

